New members join Mars school board

December 4, 2019 Cranberry Local News

Advertisement | Advertise Here

ADAMS TWP — Four new board members and one returning member were sworn in Tuesday evening during the Mars Area School Board reorganization meeting.

“This is a new beginning,” said Dayle Ferguson, board president. “And a new chapter.”

John Kennedy, who was re-elected in November, joined Megan Lenz, Sallie Wick, Kevin Hagen and Anthony DePretis prior to the meeting in a school board executive session. All five members are Republican.

District solicitor Tom King said incoming board members were officially sworn in before the executive session in order to participate in it.

The members participated in a second swearing in for the public.

The four new candidates are replacing board members Steven Boggs, Rebecca Brown, William Pettigrew and Bonnie Weaver, who won seats alongside Kennedy in 2015.

Before leaving her seat as president, Ferguson said the road to Tuesday night was at times tumultuous.

“The community has spoken,” Ferguson said. “We have moved from campaigning to governing.”

Kennedy was unanimously voted board president. Board member Rita Dorsch was voted vice president, and board member Gordon Marburger maintained his position as treasurer.

After taking his seat as president, Kennedy voiced his appreciation of Ferguson's service as board president. Kennedy said he recognized and appreciated work Ferguson has done on the board and in the community.

“Dayle to a lot of people is known as Mrs. Mars,” Kennedy said.

Ferguson said Mars Area is a special and important part of the community.

Though she'll be stepping back from some board duties, she said the board will be in good hands.

“It's going to be good,” Ferguson said.

Share this article:
Samantha Beal

Samantha Beal